My father’s legacy to me. All but unnoticed until now!

Daily I am amazed at thoughts my father left to me in his word now remembered. I never noticed his depth while he lived. He did not appear to be a philosopher to me, but now I can’t think of him in any other way.

One significant memory strikes me often. Once in a while he would greet a neighbor  by saying “How are you?” Some would answer the question by saying how they felt, but others would answer back, “How are you?” My father would call this taking it to the next degree. The person would not be answering your question, but entering his own in place of an answer. Why was he discounting your offer, you might wonder?  Did he not feel your question was worthy of an answer? Was he attempting to exercise a more dominant role for himself over you? All I can truly say was that my father thought less of that person for acting in this manner.He considered it uncivil and ungentlemanly. It told you something about the person.

Today I see his point. It also helps you understand the other person. It tells me that I would not want to have any enduring relationship with that person. It is a telltale for me. I am thankful to my father for giving me this guideline.

Try it out for yourself. You will be surprised when someone “takes it to the next degree ” with you. It may help your decision making process. It may help you make a crucial judgment for yourself.

Leave a comment